1000-Year-Old Eggs

Regarding the Far Eastern “delicacy” of “1000 year old eggs,” Wikipedia has this to say:

1000 year old eggCentury egg, also known as preserved egg, hundred-year egg, thousand-year egg and thousand-year-old egg is a Chinese cuisine ingredient made by preserving duck, chicken or quail eggs in mixture of clay, ash, salt, lime, and rice straw for several weeks to several months, depending on the method of processing. After the process is completed, the yolk becomes a dark green, cream-like substance with a strong odor of sulfur and ammonia, while the white becomes a dark brown, transparent jelly with little flavor or taste. (source)

Whatever floats yer junk, I guess, but what I get out of the above is “putrified egg that smells like farts and piss.”

Praise it

Flush This

8 responses to “1000-Year-Old Eggs

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Posts @ Things That Stink « Things That Stink

  2. 皮蛋 (pi dan) – Century Egg or literally “Skin Egg”

    Damn… love those… There’s hardly any smell at all. And it taste rather sweet actually.

    A recent Japanese joint near my place (I live in Bukit Timah, Singapore) introduced Century Egg mashed with Tofu. Mmmm….. :)

    http://www.dereth.org

  3. I had the 1000 year old egg today and found that it a bit harsh for me. The sulfer and ammonia was rather strong. However, I ate the egg and the experience was different. Won’t try it again because of the sulfer smell and ammonia.
    Everyone should try it at least one time, why not?

  4. Hard-boiled eggs already smell like farts to me.

  5. One of my aisan student introduces me this thing. Add I am now addicted to it.
    Really good after you get used to the smell

  6. Can I purchase these eggs in South Aafrica and if so where??
    Collie

  7. Pingback: NextCreativity.com » Food Talk

  8. Pingback: NextCreativity.com » Food Talk

Leave a Reply

